The Resource Deadly dialectics : sex, violence, and nihilism in the world of Yukio Mishima, Roy Starrs

Deadly dialectics : sex, violence, and nihilism in the world of Yukio Mishima, Roy Starrs

Label
Deadly dialectics : sex, violence, and nihilism in the world of Yukio Mishima
Title
Deadly dialectics
Title remainder
sex, violence, and nihilism in the world of Yukio Mishima
Statement of responsibility
Roy Starrs
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Although Mishima's main literary ambition was to write philosophical novels in the tradition of Goethe and Thomas Mann, Deadly Dialectics is the first critical study to take this objective seriously: it also provides the first adequate account of Mishima's intellectual background and characteristic modes of thought and it is the first book to show the intimate and integral relation between his thought and his psychology and militant politics - or, more specifically, between his nihilism, his sexuality and his propensity to violence
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1946-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Starrs, Roy
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
PL833.I7
LC item number
Z877 1994
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Mishima, Yukio
  • Mishima, Yukio
  • Mishima, Yukio
  • Mishima, Yukio
  • Nihilism in literature
  • Nihilismo en la literatura
  • Nihilism in literature
  • Philosophy
  • Romans
  • Japans
  • Seks
  • Geweld
  • Nihilisme
  • Gewalt
  • Sexualverhalten
  • Nihilismus
Label
Deadly dialectics : sex, violence, and nihilism in the world of Yukio Mishima, Roy Starrs
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (p. 195-198) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction: The Mask and the Hammer -- 1. Mishima's Ambition to Write Philosophic Novels -- 2. The Influence of Nietzsche and Thomas Mann -- 3. The Making of a Nihilist -- 4. The Active/Passive Nihilist Dialectic -- 5. The Dialectics of the Final Tetralogy -- 6. Mishima's Philosophic Novels and the Japanese Literary Tradition -- 7. Mishima and the Japanese Intellectual Tradition -- 8. Mishima's Philosophic Novels in a Western Context -- 9. The Quality of Mishima's Thought -- 1. The Psychological Context of Mishima's Thought -- 2. The Psychology of Mishima's Novels -- 3. Psychology in a Japanese Context -- 4. The Sex Life of a Nihilist -- 5. Mishima's Active/Passive Psychology in a Japanese Context -- 6. The Aesthetics of Terror -- 7. The Nihilist's Will to Power -- 8. The Anti-psychology of Mishima's Last Novels -- 9. The 'Nietzschean Writer' as a Psychological Type -- 1. An Intellectual's Itch for Action -- 2. Nihilism, Morality and Politics -- 3. Nihilism in Mishima's Morality and Politics -- 4. Moral/Political Nihilism in Mishima's Novels
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
225 pages
Isbn
9780824816315
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Lccn
94001027
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)29671081
  • (OCoLC)ocm29671081
Label
Deadly dialectics : sex, violence, and nihilism in the world of Yukio Mishima, Roy Starrs
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (p. 195-198) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction: The Mask and the Hammer -- 1. Mishima's Ambition to Write Philosophic Novels -- 2. The Influence of Nietzsche and Thomas Mann -- 3. The Making of a Nihilist -- 4. The Active/Passive Nihilist Dialectic -- 5. The Dialectics of the Final Tetralogy -- 6. Mishima's Philosophic Novels and the Japanese Literary Tradition -- 7. Mishima and the Japanese Intellectual Tradition -- 8. Mishima's Philosophic Novels in a Western Context -- 9. The Quality of Mishima's Thought -- 1. The Psychological Context of Mishima's Thought -- 2. The Psychology of Mishima's Novels -- 3. Psychology in a Japanese Context -- 4. The Sex Life of a Nihilist -- 5. Mishima's Active/Passive Psychology in a Japanese Context -- 6. The Aesthetics of Terror -- 7. The Nihilist's Will to Power -- 8. The Anti-psychology of Mishima's Last Novels -- 9. The 'Nietzschean Writer' as a Psychological Type -- 1. An Intellectual's Itch for Action -- 2. Nihilism, Morality and Politics -- 3. Nihilism in Mishima's Morality and Politics -- 4. Moral/Political Nihilism in Mishima's Novels
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
225 pages
Isbn
9780824816315
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Lccn
94001027
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)29671081
  • (OCoLC)ocm29671081

Library Locations

  • African Studies LibraryBorrow it
    771 Commonwealth Avenue, 6th Floor, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.350723 -71.108227
  • Alumni Medical LibraryBorrow it
    72 East Concord Street, Boston, MA, 02118, US
    42.336388 -71.072393
  • Astronomy LibraryBorrow it
    725 Commonwealth Avenue, 6th Floor, Boston, MA, 02445, US
    42.350259 -71.105717
  • Fineman and Pappas Law LibrariesBorrow it
    765 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.350979 -71.107023
  • Frederick S. Pardee Management LibraryBorrow it
    595 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.349626 -71.099547
  • Howard Gotlieb Archival Research CenterBorrow it
    771 Commonwealth Avenue, 5th Floor, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.350723 -71.108227
  • Mugar Memorial LibraryBorrow it
    771 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.350723 -71.108227
  • Music LibraryBorrow it
    771 Commonwealth Avenue, 2nd Floor, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.350723 -71.108227
  • Pikering Educational Resources LibraryBorrow it
    2 Silber Way, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.349804 -71.101425
  • School of Theology LibraryBorrow it
    745 Commonwealth Avenue, 2nd Floor, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.350494 -71.107235
  • Science & Engineering LibraryBorrow it
    38 Cummington Mall, Boston, MA, 02215, US
    42.348472 -71.102257
  • Stone Science LibraryBorrow it
    675 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA, 02445, US
    42.350103 -71.103784
Processing Feedback ...